Meet Our Staff: Tanuja Rathi

Tanuja Rathi - Morgan Park Academy

Please help us welcome our new Director of College Counseling, Tanuja Rathi!

Mrs. Rathi combines the business skills developed in her previous career as a management consultant with her experience as a college counselor for Chicago Scholars, where she helped underserved students with the college application process.

A member of the Illinois Association of College Counselors, the American College Counseling Association, and the National Association of College Counselors, she holds an MBA from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and earned her college counseling certificate, with distinction, from UCLA.

Q&A

Why did you choose to work at Morgan Park Academy?

I strongly believe in the MPA education and how it helps prepare students for the future. My husband and my two oldest daughters are MPA alumni and I have one more daughter who will graduate in 2018. I have seen the value of the MPA education and how it has prepared them for college and beyond. I am excited to be a part of this wonderful faculty.

What motivated you to work in this field?

I had worked previously in management consulting, but I fell in love with college counseling while helping my oldest daughter go through the college admission process. College is an exciting time for students. There are so many choices available to them and I love helping students find the right fit.

What is your approach for college counseling at MPA?

I believe that at MPA we need to help students find the college that is the best fit for them given their strengths, passions, and career and academic interests. To maximize their chances of admission, it is important that they focus on the components of the college application: academics, standardized test preparation, extracurricular activities, essays, and recommendations. In today’s market, with thousands of applicants for a few selective admission spots, it is imperative that students stand out. I want to help students create a unique story to highlight their strengths.

Most high schools begin the college counseling process in junior year. But in the highly competitive admission market, it is vital that the college counseling process begin earlier.

I am excited to ensure that MPA students have:

  1. college counseling beginning freshman year;
  2. ACT preparation integrated in the college counseling curriculum;
  3. an improved essay process integrating college counseling with the English curriculum;
  4. help identifying an extracurricular activity that highlights the student’s passions; and
  5. a new workshop helping students transition from high school to college.

What are your interests and hobbies?

I love spending time with my husband, my daughters, and our three dogs! I enjoy yoga, reading, and travel, especially to college campuses. I also serve on the boards of Chicago Scholars, the Claremont McKenna Parent Network Board (co-chairing the Admission Liaison Committee), and the Brookfield Zoo.

Leave a Reply

